About the Safe-T1 project


During 2008, WorkSafe Victoria funded VALA to undertake a 3-year project to develop teaching and learning resources to improve the Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) awareness of young people entering the workforce. The resources aim to be informative and engaging, and to develop a culture of safety awareness in the workplace, for young people.

This website is the hub of the project, providing information about OHS, links to existing resources as well as teaching and learning activities.

An applied learning methodology has been used in the development of resources involving both teachers and students.


Funding source

The Safe-T1 project has been funded by WorkSafe Victoria as a WorkSafe Prevention Fund Project. The project supports WorkSafe's Young Workers Strategy.

Project management

Jan Hagston, Victorian Applied Learning Association

OHS consultants

Bryan Bottomley and Associates

Web development

FinPa New Media

fraynework multimedia

Writers and contributors

A number of people have contributed to this site.   The main cotributors are:

  • Jan Hagston
  • Linnet Hunter
  • Lee Kindler

Other contributors include:

  • Adamation
  • Jeanette Blandford
  • Blue Lava
  • Melissa Cumming
  • Dawn Doherty
  • Sue Erwin
  • Belinda Evans
  • Heather Glover
  • Loretta Goldsmith
  • Narelle Greenwood
  • Leah Kemp
  • Dan Nolan
  • Dee Rackham
  • Brett Van Berkel
  • Wind and Sky Productions

Thanks to all the students who took part in the SAFE-T1 competitions and Small Grants, particularly the students from Narre Warren P-12 College and Berwick Technical College who contributed the OHS raps.

Steering committee

Over the period of the project (3 1/2 years) a number of people have sat on the steering committee, some for the three and a half years, some for shorter periods. They have all played an important part in the development of SAFE-T1.

  • Andrew Williamson, Victoria University (Chair)
  • Gayle Anderson, Footscray City College 
  • Danielle Archer, Young Unionists Network, Victorian Trades Hall Council
  • Emma Craven, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Cornelia DeBrincat, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority
  • Karen Dymke, Luther College
  • Glenda Fisher, Catholic Education Office
  • Katherine Healey, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Edward Howard, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Jim Johnstone, Incolink
  • Don MacDowall, VALA
  • Janet Marshall, Australian Education Union
  • Jill McCabe, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Mick Murphy, Baw Baw LLEN
  • Michelle O'Brien, Victoria University
  • Bruce Pridham, LaTrobe University
  • Krystle Shirreff, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Andrea Summits, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Megan Verry, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Frances Watson, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Ron Wilson, VISTA


VALA will attempt to maintain this website after completion of the project. If changes or new material are sent to VALA, and resources and time permit, VALA will try to add these to the site.

Send materials to

Please notify VALA at of any broken links.


The State of Victoria through the Victorian WorkCover Authority ("WorkSafe Victoria") retains copyright in the site as a whole and all material on the site that was authored through the SAFE-T1 project.

The material available through the SAFE-T1 website has been provided by a variety of Commonwealth, state, and government agencies as well as private individuals and organisations. Copyright in the material provided by agencies, individuals or organisations belongs to those agencies, individuals or organisations.

You may download and print resources from the SAFE-T1 website for educational purposes only. You may not alter or remove any copyright or other notice from copies of the resources. Selling any resource is expressly prohibited.

WorkSafe Victoria and the Victorian Applied Learning Association respect the intellectual property rights of others, and we ask that our users do the same. We ask you to give credit to those individuals and organisations who have developed the resources and allowed the resources to be shared on this website.